PDA

View Full Version : Check engine light

Moomba360
05-23-2008, 08:43 PM
I have a new 2007 Moomba Outback direct drive with the 325 assault EFI. I put the boat in last week for the first time, .2 hrs on it, and the check engine light was on from the start. Oil pressure was good, engine temp was right around 140, and transmission had fluid in it and motor sounded good. Any ideas why the check engine light would come on from the start on a brand new boat? One service tech. stated that the motor has to warm up to operating temp., around 140, then cool down three times for the temp gauge to set itself and then the light might go off. Anyone heard of that? Any insight on this would be helpful and thanks in advance for your time.

TL7
05-25-2008, 06:35 PM
I can't confirm or deny what you were told, but I can tell you that since last year when we bought ours (07 Outback) the check engine light has never been on while running. I would definitely contact your dealer, for peace of mind if nothing else. Good luck and hope everything goes ok!

04OUTBACK
05-26-2008, 12:56 PM
3 Complete cycles will remove the light IF there are no further issues. If it came on for some unknown/no trouble issues... you crank it, run it to operating temp, turn off, allow to cool completely. repeat 2 more times. After the 3rd cycle WITHOUT a fault, the computer will reset... otherwise, they have to connect the computer to it to remove the fault...

Moomba360
05-27-2008, 12:38 AM
A thanks to TL4 and 04OUTBACK for the info. I tried the 3 cycles and the light still is on. Looks like she's going back to the shop, and the weather is just starting to get nice.... Dam it!

Moomba360

jmvotto
05-27-2008, 08:45 AM
Our OBV 07 seems to have the same prob. put three hours on it this weekend we got it with seven, now has 10. Had a great day sunday. I unhooked the battery for two hours to see if it would reset. I will try the three cycles out. i assume temp needs to hit 160 each time.