PDA

View Full Version : Underwater Lights

SquidBilly
04-16-2008, 03:59 PM
First off I want to say "Hello". This is my first time to post and I am a new member.

I started my love of Moomba with an '03 Outback until last year when I upgraded to a '07 Mobius XLV GG which only pulled me in deeper.

With the Outback I was always adding things like a tower, speakers, lights, ballast, you name it. So... when it came time to buy a new boat I thought I got everything I wanted all at once in the GG. It was fine last year but I still seem to have found a few things to add, one of which are underwater lights. Has anyone personaly done this? I was shocked when I saw the thread of an install of the exact lights I have ordered on the Supra post. The only problem is I want to do the install myself and he had a shop do it.
The dealer in my area estimated about 450.00 for the labor. There is NO way it is this hard. I am ok with the wiring part but my hang up is the mounting and through holes. I am a little gunshy of drilling into the hull.
What type of filler is best to use for the mounting holes and wires?
I want to mount them under the swimdeck one on each side of the wakeplate, what problems could I run into there (structualy or just hitting something)?
If anyone has any tips on this even with out an install of lights please help.

Thanks

04OUTBACK
04-16-2008, 07:33 PM
If the hole is your concern, find a body shop that works with fiberglass, and pay them to drill the hole! There also may be a boat / fiberglass repair shop near that would do that for little $.

I have LITTLE experience with drilling fiberglass.. I have a new remote to add to the transom, but have same fears you do.. not in a hurry to drill.

I have heard you start in reverse to score surface and also tape the area with masking tape to keep it from splintering/chipping.