PDA

View Full Version : Amplifier Wiring Question

cab13367
04-05-2008, 05:26 PM
All,

Total novice here. I am getting a head unit with 3 sets of preouts - front, rear, & sub. I have a separate amp for the sub plus a 4 channel amp for the 6 in-boat speakers. I don't have any tower speakers. My question is, how do I wire the 4 channel amp to drive the 6 in-boat speakers? Or do I drive 4 speakers with the amp and run the other 2 from the head unit's internal amp?

Thanks for any advice.

Al

04OUTBACK
04-05-2008, 08:53 PM
Al,
One thing to consider is volume control and fade...
Do you want the back 4 to be louder than front 2 and be able to fade front/back?
If this was setup you wanted, you could run front 2 off stereo and back 4 off amp..
does the amp have 2 pair RCA pre amps? If it does, then use both sets of inputs...you could pair the back 4 on the rear output of the amp and front 2 on front output..

cab13367
04-05-2008, 09:07 PM
Al,
does the amp have 2 pair RCA pre amps? If it does, then use both sets of inputs...you could pair the back 4 on the rear output of the amp and front 2 on front output..
Brad,

Yes, the amp does have two sets of RCA inputs. I was thinking of doing what you are suggesting but how would I wire the 4 back speakers to the two rear channels of the amp? Do I wire them in parallel or in series and why?

Al

04OUTBACK
04-05-2008, 09:32 PM
I'll have to defer on the parallel or series question. I have never been good on that one. I thought about that after I posted as I saw a post on WW that made me think of it.

Since you have 2 pair of RCA in and out, it would do it that way, but get some clarity on the parallel or series.. i have never understood the whole 4 ohms/2 ohms thing.. I have a BA in communications.... not anything too technical. :lol:

jmvotto
04-05-2008, 10:23 PM
Maybe this may help or just may confuse ya. It did me the first time through :oops:

http://www.termpro.com/articles/spkrz.html

tazz3069
04-06-2008, 09:24 AM
Cab-----