PDA

View Full Version : Great lakes Hoists

jmvotto
02-15-2008, 03:34 PM
Anbody in the midwest (or anywhere else for that matter) have an pros or cons with Great lakes vertical hoists for their Moombas? looking at ordering one

27 & snowy, come on spring....

JV :)

deerfield
02-15-2008, 04:08 PM
jm - Had planned on buying a Shorestation. Been around a long time and has a pretty good reputation. Then last week I stopped into a boat dealer that carries Great Lakes Lift. Yesterday in the mail received a DVD I had requested from the Great Lakes web site. Since I have no experience with lifts, kinda' hard to tell the real differences between boat lift companies and their products. I guess they all pretty much do the same thing, but maybe are engineered differently. I'm inclined to buy a Great Lakes manual vertical lift w/ canopy, and side rails. It can be set so that I don't have to lower the tower on my Outback each time I put it away. Great Lakes is offering a 10% discount during the month of February. - Deerfield

jmvotto
02-15-2008, 06:32 PM
Deerfeield,

I found that to be true as well. Shorestation, lake shore and RBC all have good names and reputations this one just seemed like a deal in price comparison.

Thx,

JV

Reese350
02-16-2008, 04:46 PM
I rented one last summer from our yacht club and had no issues with it. They swear by them. I had a 2004 Outback most of the summer and 2006 LSV towards the end. Worked great on both.

They go for about $2k used at our club.

BensonWdby
02-17-2008, 08:20 AM
I have a Vibo cantilever lift for my 99 Mobius. It is a 3600# lift, with a slot in the rear cradle for the drive shaft/prop. The nice part of that is that you don't need to have the bunkers as high off the cradle if you have the slot.

Prices are reasonable. Construction seems quality. Assembly is simple. They are local for me so that was easy, but I would imagine they ship...

http://www.vibomarine.com/cantileverlifts.htm

bamaspiveys
02-17-2008, 10:58 AM