PDA

View Full Version : Moomba starts then quits

woodman
08-13-2003, 02:31 PM
I have a 1998 Moomba Mobius. Just died after running for a few minutes the other day. Turns over and starts but then immediately dies after it burns what little fuel is in carb. Is this a bad fuel pump or something else ? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Brian Raymond
08-14-2003, 11:40 PM
When the boat is running, verify that you have batt. voltage constantly at the fuel pump. If not, jump the purple and red wire on the 3prong oil press./fuel pump sw. just port and under the distributor(in the key on, engine not running pos.). This would lean toward a switch replacement. If batt. voltage is read during the running mode, and the motor dies, it may be the pump. It may also mean a improper float adj. due to gunk in the needle and seat, or in the main metering block. A fuel filter change may be all you need. Check the fuel feed line from the pump to the tank to verify it is not pinched. Is the fuel gauge reading correctly? Keep me posted. Brian Raymond

woodman
08-15-2003, 07:58 AM
I took the boat to an indmar dealer and he said that I had alot of water in my fuel. How it got there I don't know. But I am going to drain the tank and lines, replace water separator and spark plugs to see if that will help. He said there was an unusual amount of water in the fuel. Just before this happened I filled up at a Shell station.So we will see.

Yellowmobius
08-15-2003, 09:43 AM
Very Strange, I had the same thing happen to me this year. I had the tank drained and filled with a fresh tank. Since then I have run 6 or7 tanks through without a problem.

The mechanics blamed it on a bad fill of gas. I guess is makes sense since it only happen once and has not returned.
He showed me a glass jar filled with part gas part water that he pulled out of my tank. he guessed there was between 1 to two gallons of water in it.

Tom Stimson
10-08-2003, 09:07 PM