PDA

View Full Version : Teak swim decks?

bambam26
11-07-2007, 12:30 AM
Okay can anyone give me the pros and cons of a teak deck? I know there is some maint, required but what else? I am considering getting one on my boat when I order. Help me out I am really new to the ski boat world............Thanks

Wake Master
11-07-2007, 12:37 AM
I have had Teak on my 04 lsv and my 07 xlv. It is persomal preference but you don't have to concern yourself with the black oxidation from the mat on the fiberglass platform. In addition it is simple to restore to a like new finish. No scraches or chips in teak!

zegm
11-07-2007, 12:37 AM
Hey Bambam,

When I order my boat at the show I am ordering the teak deck. A teak deck is beautiful and this option is not much plus the dealer told me you get to keep the fiberglass deck also. OK I am not sure if that will work if you order it that way. OK now for the maintenance issue. My 1975 MasterCraft still has the original teak deck on her. Yes you must oil it and take care of it, but let me put it this way, my boat is sitting in the water now like it does all year and I have the original beautiful teak deck. It is not that much work plus I know it will not get as hot as those black fiberglass decks. I clean it and soak it down with teak oil (linseed oil) when I pull her out of the water.

bambam26
11-07-2007, 01:04 AM
Any pictures of the decks???

zegm
11-07-2007, 01:17 AM
while looking throught the forum last night I saw a picture with a teak deck. I might have saved it. let me look

zegm
11-07-2007, 01:23 AM
click up on the search button and type in teak. I just found some pictures of one of a European customer. Yes it looks Great! Plus there is much more information about the pros and cons. But really being an inboard owner for going on 20 plus years I really have to have a teak deck, that was what they all used to come with!

BensonWdby
11-07-2007, 02:17 AM
Teak looks great and it is very traditional.