PDA

View Full Version : Carb and Temp Gauge Probs

AaronWhitt82
09-05-2007, 02:17 AM
Hey guys... I know this is my first post, but I just bought a 99' Outback about a month ago. It has the Indmar 350 (310H.P.) DD in it.
I had the boat out the other day for the 2nd time and all was running fine until right around sunset the boat decides to die in the middle of the lake and it wouldn't start back up. Had to get her towed in to the trailer.
Well the next day took a bunch of stuff apart and put the water pickup hose in a 5 gallon bucket and turned the hose on and started it up....
Well come to find out for some reason the choke was staying closed and wouldn't open. I'm not good with carbs (Holley 4150 or 4160/ Not sure which one), but did some researching and think I may have fixed it, but aren't sure at all, and I got it to stay open and it ran good and wouldn't flood itself out.
Well today took her out to see how it ran under a load.... Seemed to run fine, but from a dead stop I would hammer the throttle and after it would just about get to plane and speed up the motor would backfire and spit and lose acceleration. If I just eased into it everything seemed fine, but it also didn't seem like it was reaching top speed either. The boat also idles no prob and runs smooth. I'm pretty much lost now and don't want to take her into the dealer.
Just wondering if any of you guys might know off the top of your heads what it might need? Rebuild kit?, Accelerator Pump?, Power Valve? Idle/ Air mixture screw?; I'm clueless.
Also I've noticed the Temp. gauge is only reaching to around 125 degrees, but if I shut the boat off and turn the key on then it goes back up to near operating temp. then as soon as I start the boat and take off it drops right back down again. I'm not sure if its the gauge or maybe the thermostat...
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Aaron

JesseC
09-05-2007, 11:49 AM