PDA

View Full Version : Outback DD viable for wakeboarding?

ledzep70
08-27-2007, 04:56 PM
Hi there, please excuse any ignorance on my part, as I am new to all this. I currently own a '94 Sunbird Stinger. It was fun for tubing, my fiance skis very well on it, and I started wakeboarding 2 years ago. The wake produced from this boat is rather small, and I'd likk to upgrade.

My question is this: Is the 2007 Outback dd good for wakeboarding? I understand it is great for skiers. I can get a nice deal on one this week. Should I hold out for an Outback V?

I have read that with the factory ballast beneath the floorboard (I think it is 400#, part of a wakeboard package, has the tower also) and the 440# twin bags, that the Outback DD can put up a nice wake. And still be good for a skier.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

deerfield
08-27-2007, 06:17 PM
led - My sons, ages 21 and 14, are first year wakeboarders. They do fine behind our Outback dd with tower and 400 lb rear ballast. Plenty of room for improvement before needing a specialty wakeboard boat. - Deerfield

04OUTBACK
08-27-2007, 08:19 PM
LED,
Just sold an '04 outback. Great Boat. With properly balanced weight, it is great. There are several posts on the message board from other Outback Owners. Unless you are a really aggressive rider looking to get Big Air, you'll enjoy the best of both worlds as it throws a SMooth wake for slalom.
I sold to upgrade to LSV as I wanted the room of the V Drive and Gravity Ballas system. (I had manual sacs)

Running the 400lb sac and twin 440's will be great. My best wake came from having 7 Adults in the boat while towing... 2 in front, 1 driver, 1 spotter and 2 in back seat. I would guestimate total weight of passengers while I was riding to have been around 1100 lbs. The wake was perfect.
Outback V will give you more interior room, storage and a little better wake.
My Suggestion: If you only want a wake boat, get the V.
If you want to be able to enjoy both, get the DD.