PDA

View Full Version : Vibration after hitting submerged stump

SEARK
06-24-2007, 12:03 PM
I'm new to the DD boats (07 Mobius LS). Yesterday I hit a submerged stump. I've done this before with stern drive boats and it just messed up the prop. When I did it yesterday with the DD I figured it did the same thing since the boat would vibrate after idle speed. I was able to get back and load on to the trailer. After pulling out of the water I inspected the prop and there appeared to be no damage to it. My question is could I have gotton the DD out of balance? Any info or advice would be welcomed.

Thanks

:shock:

csumerall
06-24-2007, 12:57 PM
i would take another look at the prop and the prop shaft to ensure you didnt bend it

JoeTechie
06-24-2007, 01:59 PM
I agree - it takes VERY LITTLE to get vibration. Have the prop resurfaced & rebalanced, or replace it and use this one as a spare.

-J

zabooda
06-24-2007, 03:22 PM
If you have vibration more than likely the prop has been bent. The naked eye won't catch the minor bends but when the prop is turning at a high speed you'll feel the vibration.

SEARK
06-24-2007, 09:14 PM
Thanks, I'll take another look at the prop.

Yellowmobius
06-25-2007, 08:47 AM
Take a look at the strut (brass hanger that the drive shaft goes through)
I would even hookup water, start the boat, and put it in gear. Then take a look at the prop/shaft, if the shaft is bent you will see it for sure.

All else fails take it to a shop. Don't mess around with a vibration!

SEARK
06-25-2007, 09:03 AM
I checked the saft and strut, even put a level on the shaft. Both seem ok. Had a friend take a look and he thought that the prop may have a slight bend to it. I'm going to contact the dealer today and see if they can take a look at it. :shock:

04OUTBACK
06-30-2007, 10:42 AM