PDA

View Full Version : helmets

FSULax
06-09-2007, 10:16 AM
I'm brand new to wakeboarding... Tommorow will be my 6th time going out. Do you all wear a helmet? I figure it will help with the headaches? Like a newbie I face plant and back of the head plant alot. I just got a protec wake helmet, but I wanted to see how many ppl wear them.

outback 4
06-09-2007, 11:26 AM
no helmet. only time i've had a fall that a helmet might help with is when i'm doing blind 180's and i catch an edge.

JesseC
06-09-2007, 05:01 PM
We all ride with helmets in my crew. They help a little with the bad falls, but they help to protect your ears the most. There have been a lot of people blow their ear drums on hard falls. Since my lake is technically a river, we also wear them in case of unseen debris in the water. I figure it can't hurt to wear them!

JoeTechie
06-09-2007, 10:12 PM
Good reading:

https://forum.moomba.com/viewtopic.php?t=2778

-J

FSULax
06-10-2007, 10:42 PM
I got one before going out the weekend. I liked it and will continue to use it.

gt9118
06-11-2007, 09:33 AM
Helmet is a must.

FSULax
06-25-2007, 10:55 AM
Had a kid, 15 yo on the boat this yesterday... Didn't think the helmet was cool, or whatever. Fell on a simple run, nothing fancy, the board hit him in the head. Not a big cut, but enough to color some hair red. We learned a lesson!

cab13367
06-26-2007, 06:52 PM
I caught an edge last summer trying to do an ollie 360 out in the flats. Crashed hard on my right side, ended up with a pinhole perforation of my right ear drum. Ear rang for days, got infected, nasty, bloody fluid oozed out constantly for a couple weeks, had no high pitch hearing. Luckily, everything healed up in about a month and I got all my hearing back, which I'm told doesn't always happen.

I am shopping around for a helmet with ear protection.