PDA

View Full Version : Kaiyen + 8 foot garage... almost

CptAmerica
09-12-2021, 04:28 PM
Hey everyone! A quick backstory, seconding as an introduction... I am BRAND new to boating. A few of my friends have been into wake boating for years (my best friend started in 2005), but I just never saw myself doing this. Then after the 3rd or 4th trip to the lake this summer with my family, bobbing up and down in my yellow inflatable duck, watching family's roaring with fun around the lake in their boats, sking, waking, and towing their kids on tubes.. it hit me... I need a wake boat in my life and me and the wife are on track to figuring out all the ins, outs, dos, don'ts, and everything we need to prepare to get one, hopefully for next season.

After a few weeks of reading, studying, asking my friends, and 1000 youtube videos, I have settled on Moomba. From what I can tell, it's the best bang-for-buck entry level boat you can get, and I think we are going to start there, I think with perhaps the Kaiyen. My problem, is storing it. The two smaller Moombas both say they are designed to fit inside a standard 8' garage door, which is great. My 3rd garage bay will work well. However, I have a question. On the Kaiyens stats page, it says the height of the boat on the trailer with the tower folded down, is 96". Uhmm.. but an 8' door (which is 96") isn't actually 96"... you have to take into account there is always some trim around the door AND the garage door hangs down a little. Even if the opening WAS exactly 96", I wouldn't want to back my boat into something with literally 0mm of clearance... right? I have just under 94" of clearance on my 9x8 garage door. I haven't been to my moomba dealership yet to look and physically measure myself, I am just starting absorbing information, they are a few hours away. I plan on going pretty soon.

Can anybody tell me the actual height of their Kaiyan on their trailer?