PDA

View Full Version : Gelcoat Scratches

jordankmc
09-10-2021, 09:42 PM
I got a couple scratches in my gel coat today from a wakeboard bumping into the transom above the swim platform(careless guests). What is the best way to get rid of these? I'm new to any sort of finishing/polishing/buffing so I'll take advice on any specific products or polishers used. How do you tell if a scratch is bad enough to need sandpaper? Obviously looking for a way to get rid of the scratch without then having to polish the whole boat to make it look consistent again. Scratch is not bad enough to be able to feel it with my hand, but any scratch on blue gel coat is white and very visible. Thanks for your help.

brad460
09-11-2021, 10:54 AM
I remove scratches with a 1500 grit sponge wet sand followed by a scratch remover wax compound, then lastly a polishing wax and buff.

If your nervous doing this, find an area under the boat or somewhere out of sight that has a small scratch and practice using this process. Once comfortable move on to the more obvious areas..

996scott
09-11-2021, 12:17 PM
For heavier scratches

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000AY4YX/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

For lighter scratches

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0000AXMDP/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_image_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Start with the least aggressive first (the polish) and see if it will buff out. If it doesn't come out, use the compound and once the scratch is gone using the compound, go over it with the polish.

CptAmerica
09-15-2021, 06:58 PM