PDA

View Full Version : Is a Tacoma enough to tow a 2008 XLV

Beas
08-30-2021, 10:48 AM
I'm new to all of this, so pardon the dumb answers. Yall can make fun of me too, it wont bother me :). I bought a Tacoma last year with hopes of getting a wake boat in the near future. Obviously it worked out and I ended up with a 2008 XLV GG edition.

the math... 2020 Tacoma TRD off road 4x4, its rated to tow 6300-6800#s. The boat is 3600#s, maybe 4600#s with the trailer. So, obviously, I'm in the range.

I have no experience towing, but it doesn't feel all that comfortable. No problems getting it in and out of the water, but I can't envision driving 4 hours on the interstate to take it to a lake out of town. It just feels like its straining the truck.

Do I need to bite the bullet and upgrade my truck, or is that just the feeling towing that weight?

Thanks for any input.

Jason1975
08-30-2021, 11:16 AM
based on tow rating you should be fine, but I am not sure you want my opinion. My rule for towing is always bigger is better. I never exceed 60% of my tow rating. Meaning the most i would tow with a 10k tow rating is 6k lbs. But thats just me. My thought is exactly what you said, just add'l wear on my truck.

2in2out
08-30-2021, 11:17 AM
Your Tacoma is feeling the weight. I towed a double jet ski trailer with two Honda aguatrax on it, with a total weight of 4300 on high Sierra roads (6000ft). It strained with that weight and the width of the trailer didn’t allow for good rear view vision for merging in and out of traffic.

Braking was another issue. Contact surface of the tires was less because the tires we were running were less than many half-ton pick-ups. Traction on the ramp or beach launching was another issue.

Depending on how you set your Tacoma up, front wheel contact may be affected by the tongue weight making steering difficult.

I would suggest that you look for a larger tow vehicle if you are going to spend that much time on the road with your boat.