PDA

View Full Version : 2021 Moomba Makai

Billy Jack
10-19-2020, 10:19 PM
Looking to purchase a new wake boat next month and looking for some help making a decision. I've narrowed my search to a 2021 Moomba Makai or a 2021 Axis A24. I'm new to wake surfing as of this summer. I surfed behind a friends 2019 Axis A24 a handful of times this past summer. I was able to surf without the rope fairly quickly and easily. The wave was tall, fairly long, and had lots of push which really helped. I really prefer the Makai but when I demoed the the boat and surfed behind it the wave was disappointing. I could surf behind it without the rope but the wave was not nearly as tall as the A24, the pocket was small, and the wave lacked push. I know the boat was underweight as it was only myself and the boat salesman on the boat with 250 lbs of lead. So now I have a dilemma......do I go with the boat I like less (Axis A24) but that I know I like the wave OR do I take a chance and go with the boat I like (Makai) but remain unsure of the wave it will generate when properly weighted. Does anyone have any experience on both with the waves dialed in? Any help would be appreciated.

Chuds
10-19-2020, 10:31 PM
Wake9 has a really good review of the Makai wave on youtube. As for axis it is really a personal opinion but I felt like the moomba had a better fit and finish overall when we were shopping at the last years boat show but both are nice boats. wake9's video should put you mind at ease regarding the Makai wave potential when properly dialed in.

svienb
10-19-2020, 11:02 PM
I did the same excruciating analysis and demos 2 months ago and ended up with a very lightly used Supra SA.
I was going to order a new Moomba but the SA came in.
Bottom line for Moomba against Axis.
The wake is great, bow rise is ridiculous, engine sounded in pain and the fit and finish looks like it was put together in a high school shop class.