PDA

View Full Version : Full Tank of Gas

08-15-2020, 03:57 PM
I have a 2016 Moomba Mondo. We don't have a gas station on our lake. With the boat on my Boatmate trailer I don't get a full tank at the gas station. In order to get an almost full tank I park the boat on the trailer on a downward incline and I get 6 to 8 more gallons by manually pouring in gas cans, and the gas gauge is still slightly below full. Is there a better way?

Thanks much.

TexTgrTed1
08-16-2020, 11:45 PM
It takes as much time for me to get the last 4-5 gallons in as it does the first 20 when filling up.

Have to climb up in the boat so I can watch the fuel gauge to confirm it’s full.

Very strange.

Surgical_ass
08-17-2020, 08:47 AM
I always wondered why the fuel gauge never reads 100% full after I fill up. I assumed that the gauge was off. Would be nice to get another 8 gallons in...

sandm
08-18-2020, 12:29 AM
I have found that setting the gas pump to the slowest automatic setting gets me most of the way there and towards the end I have learned to "hear" the gas going in and take my time. usually gets to 100% this way. I'm with tex in that it takes a minute to do it.

I don't ever run the pump at full bore and have learned from an overflow all over the parking lot in my old supra to take it slow.

TexTgrTed1
08-18-2020, 11:01 PM
Good tip San. Never thought about running the fill pump slower to help insure a complete fill.

Will try that on next refill!

tre
08-18-2020, 11:14 PM
Interesting. My Supra SE does the same thing. I'll have to try that.

sandm
08-19-2020, 12:22 AM
not sure how moomba/supras fill but on my current whip, and for that matter the prior 2, if I turn the pump on full steam it shuts off often and doesn't like running once it's about 90% full.
found that on the slowest setting it fills steady.

Seahawk
08-19-2020, 11:51 AM