PDA

View Full Version : Indmar 5.7 Bogging Under Load - Timing?

LakeLiving
06-20-2020, 03:01 PM
Any Mechanics out there want to take a stab at this one?

I have a 2005 Moomba Outback with an Indmar 5.7. She was missing a bit of top end speed end of last season but otherwise fine.
Before winterizing I changed the oil, put in new plugs (properly gapped), and new distributor cap. I put in the water 3 weeks ago and she barely got to 5 MPH before bogging down. It starts and idles fine and can rev it in Nuetral to 6k RPM.

My fuel pump was whining like it was starving for gas so I changed the fuel filter, then cleaned the pump, and finally replaced the pump. Still whining so I replaced the fuel line. That did the trick. Nice and quiet again but didn't help performance.

Noticed she was running hot so I put in a new (and much needed) water impeller. Running at <1700 degrees now.
I checked a few sensors (MAP, TPS, Air Intake) all good

Then did a fuel pressure test and realized my Fuel Pressure Regulator was bad. Was pushing 80lbs of pressure. Replaced it and the boat actually responded. I could now go 20 MPH but it bogs if I push the throttle any more. Then it back fires if I keep the throttle on too much.

I did have a mobile mechanic stop by early on, before I changed the fuel pump. He wanted to replace a sensor on the distributor/coil but couldn't get it off and said he was in a rush ... so he just pulled the whole distributor shaft out and took it to his shop. He came back and installed it the next day. I wonder if he F'd up my timing. So once I was able to get it to 20 MPH (with new fuel pres. reg.) I loosened the distributor cap and moved it a bit. Sure enough boat now goes 25 MPH.