PDA

View Full Version : Ski Pylon

jbird03
03-23-2007, 01:00 PM
I bought a 97 outback last year late, and just learning all the ins and outs of the boat. My question is about the pylon. Mine has some play in it, and I was wondering if this is normal or should it be tightened up. If so how would I go about doing this. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks, Jason

BensonWdby
03-23-2007, 05:49 PM
The sky pylon that my previous owner had included a vinyl mesh sock that fit over the standard pylon. Presumably this prevented wobble and reduced surface wear on the slalom pylon.

I have never installed the sky pylon so not sure how it fit.

Dave

jbird03
03-23-2007, 09:20 PM
Thanks for the information on that Benson, I am new at this so I may have not been clear enough, the pylon that I am speaking of is the one that is installed on the boat from the factory, directly in front of the engine. I may just not know enough about this to be asking the right questions....

JoeTechie
03-24-2007, 12:27 AM
Should be rock solid. There are bolts holding it to the boat's frame. Tighten them. :)
Not sure how to get to them on a '97, OB, but there are lots of simmilar boat owners on here, so you should get a pretty good idea.

-J

bobwells
03-24-2007, 06:59 AM
my '98 has the pylon plate bolted as you stated directly in front of engine. as Joesaid there should be no play, mine has 4 bolts securing plate I would defintetly torque these down solid. (easy to get to) have a great wk. end, bob

p.s. no ideas on wheel wobble folks ? (see below)just didnt want to pull this thing apart and have preloaded pieces fly all over and have to drive it with vice grips :o

NH Moomba
03-24-2007, 08:56 AM