PDA

View Full Version : Simple engine question

racerready
03-19-2007, 06:42 PM
Looking forward to getting my new to me 01 Mobius in the water this season, I'm new to this type of boat and motor so my learning curve is huge. My experience with past boat motors is that they all have their little quirks and subtleties. Any tips or tricks about running the carb Indmar in my 01? It's all stock no extra goodies and will be used primarily only on weekends and left in the water during the week for the lack of other options. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

On a side note...love the forum, tons of great advice.

Buttafewcoe
03-20-2007, 04:26 AM
For a cold start, pump the throttle a couple times and return to the neutral position before cranking the engine. Let the motor warm up a couple minutes b4 taking off on your adventures. For a warm start, crack the throttle lever open slightly then crank the engine.
If everything is in good working order, that is all you should have to do.
Hope this helps,
B

JoeTechie
03-20-2007, 11:07 AM
The owners manual has excellent info on starting and safety proceedures.
If the boat does not come with an owners manual, this is very close:
http://www.moomba.com/library/owner_manuals/moomba_02.pdf

Enjoy the new toy !

-Joe

NH Moomba
03-20-2007, 07:59 PM
I think your biggest learning cure with this type of boat will probably be parking it and backing it up. It is a huge difference from an I/O or outboard.

Andy

bobwells
03-22-2007, 07:18 AM