PDA

View Full Version : Ballast placement lingo

DNIXD99
09-03-2019, 01:17 PM
Im sure its a stupid question, but can someone translate some the ballast placement lingo? maybe a boat diagram? Lets see some paint skills lol.

midship, lockers, ect

I see a lot of different words used, and most of the time,I think theyre just saying under the seat behind the driver, and under the seat opposite of that. lol

Clearly Im a noob

haknslash
09-03-2019, 05:25 PM
Port = left side of boat
Starboard = right side of boat
Locker = storage compartment
Midship = middle of the boat
Bow = front of the boat
Stern = rear of the boat

Hope this helps.

Light blue = port bow locker
Dark blue = starboard bow locker
Red = port midship locker
Green = starboard midship locker
Yellow = port rear locker
Purple = starboard rear locker

https://i.imgur.com/fN4dm2S.jpg

MJHSupra
09-03-2019, 05:33 PM
What are you trying to figure out?

Adding weight is either WATER or LEAD.

Rear Lockers - the areas on each side of your engine. The Max has storage trays on each side and under that is probably 1000#s of ballast bags. I recall people upgrading to 1280s for more water weight - 50x25x25. You will also hear people upgrading the divider panels on each side - those are panels separating the engine and locker

Midship - People are putting bags under the side seats - 720s - bags probably 45x20x20. Midship weight is the longer seats behind the driver's console area and across from the drivers.

You probably have 1000# under the center of the boat.

Bow - front of the boat. Sometimes you will read about a IBS bag up there - Integrated Bow Sac - looks like an upside-down V - probably 250-500#

Helm weight is by the drivers console and across from that - observer side. You might hear someone adding 100-200# on drivers and 300-400# on the observer side to offset the driver weight.

MJHSupra
09-03-2019, 05:36 PM
haknslash - nice pic!

haknslash
09-03-2019, 05:40 PM
haknslash - nice pic!