PDA

View Full Version : How long to break in before you can surf?

LAwake
04-27-2018, 10:25 AM
I recently purchased a new 2017 Helix. My sales guy went over the necessary break in period with me and how it was important to slowly break in the motor. He said something about not filling the ballast and putting a lot of strain on the motor. I've read the owners manual and haven't been able to locate anything that tells when it's safe to use ballast and start surfing. Sorry for the newb question but this is my first inboard, I'm still learning the ins and outs,and I want to make sure I do the right thing for the motor long term.

snowking
04-27-2018, 10:38 AM
I recently purchased a new 2017 Helix. My sales guy went over the necessary break in period with me and how it was important to slowly break in the motor. He said something about not filling the ballast and putting a lot of strain on the motor. I've read the owners manual and haven't been able to locate anything that tells when it's safe to use ballast and start surfing. Sorry for the newb question but this is my first inboard, I'm still learning the ins and outs,and I want to make sure I do the right thing for the motor long term.

I read 10hrs in the Indmar manual but wasn’t sure if that was a bit overkill I would love to know what everyone else has done and results?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

chawk610
04-27-2018, 10:48 AM
My dealer said 6 hours to break in before putting the motor to work, but others here may know better

Stazi
04-27-2018, 10:58 AM
I did 20 and the service at 20 before I surfed, as it’s the hardest on the engine due to the large amount of ballast etc.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

dakota4ce
04-27-2018, 11:26 AM
My dealer pulled a wakeboard comp with mine as a demo before it was sold to me. Can’t imagine they were gentle on it.

A good friend is a Tige dealer and he runs new ones out of the box with surf weight.

Who knows what the actual best practice is?

korey