PDA

View Full Version : Rookie trailering question

Dtbradly
09-22-2017, 09:58 AM
So i am taking my first boat out for the first time ever this weekend. played around at home with driving it and immediately learned about surge brakes. Here is my question. Seems like most recommend unplugging trailer lights from the truck before going down the ramp but that would enable the surge brakes. So does everyone use that freakin little key every time they go down the ramp?? Trying to find out the best method so as not to look like a total newb on the ramp. Thanks guys

KG's Supra24
09-22-2017, 10:08 AM
Leave it plugged in.

VA LSV
09-22-2017, 10:12 AM
The 5th wire on the trailer plug is to disable the brakes in reverse.

JASONZ
09-22-2017, 10:13 AM
I don't think anyone unplugs the trailer when backing down the ramp.
My tip is don't rush, just back up slow. Enjoy the new ride!

Kidder522
09-22-2017, 10:14 AM
Yep. Leave it plugged in and reverse down the ramp.

bluice311
09-22-2017, 10:14 AM
I asked my dealer the same question, as our previous boat/trailer did not have brakes. We would always unplug the harness to avoid any electrical shorts (1997 trailer).

He said to leave it plugged into the vehicle and only to use that key in emergency situations. The LED's are sealed (unlike older bulb lights) and for people with the runway lighting on the trailer it requires that the harness is connected to vehicle.

wolfeman131
09-22-2017, 10:15 AM
Going down the ramp won't engage the surge breaks. Trying to back up an incline without being plugged in will.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mattsask
09-22-2017, 10:17 AM
I leave my lights plugged in every time.

Sent from my SM-G930W8 using Tapatalk

DFTR Josh
09-22-2017, 10:17 AM