PDA

View Full Version : Service

JHCMondo
09-08-2017, 12:06 PM
I have a 2016 Mondo with 65 hours on it. Getting ready for winterization and any service that is required.

On the indmar manual it lists a whole slew of things under EVERY 300 HOURS OR ANNUALLY. I got a quote from a dealer and it's $1350 plus tax to do all the maintenance (i'm in Canada). I'm new to boats and I'm beginning to under stand Bust Out Another Thousand! Anyway other than the oil, oil filter and winterization is the rest of them really necessary? Seems excessive to do all that annually when i only put on 50 hours a year?

What would I be able to skip? If it's all necessary to avoid damaging my $93k (I'm in Canada) boat I will do it but it seems rather excessive to do this every year with only 50 hours a year of use.

Thanks
James

MMPRES
09-08-2017, 12:54 PM
I'm in Alabama, so obviously I'm more on the conservative side when it comes to winterization but have done all the work on my own. The majority of the work can be saved for summerization (oil change, impeller change, etc.). I would focus on mainly getting all of the raw water out of the engine and ballast lines, you could even go so far as to run antifreeze through those lines and close them back up. But I would pull the impeller, remove the engine block plugs, open up the hoses that connect the manifolds and disconnect the raw water intake from the block. I put antifreeze in my ballast lines until the pumps were spitting it out the bottom this last year and disconnected the bags making sure to empty out those as well. Not sure where the $1350 comes from as that may be a total of two hours labor from what I described, and that's a stretch as to whether it would actually take them two hours. I was close to that, but I'm an amateur. Don't have the manual in front of me, but can't really figure out what else would be suggested beyond that given you have a barely used boat.

Darter
09-08-2017, 06:11 PM