PDA

View Full Version : Board Choices

TJG
08-21-2017, 02:50 PM
Another board choice thread. . . for a first year surfer. Currently surfing a CWB Ride as my first board. Getting the hang of it. With 3500lbs of ballast and two people in the boat I can ride up to 4ft off the back. I looked into purchasing a used Red Rocket from a member here. . . I was very fortunate in that I was able to test it as well. I felt, as did the member selling it, that with the large size it was a bit slow, a bit sluggish. The Ride feels more nimble.

That said, I am looking to upgrade for next year. I'm 5'10", 202lbs. Looking for something that will hold me, plus be a bit more fun and nimble on the wake. I'm not experienced enough to know the difference between surf and skim. So take that into consideration I guess. Any feedback on reasonable priced boards that will work is appreciated!

muehlcj
08-21-2017, 08:18 PM
Another board choice thread. . . for a first year surfer. Currently surfing a CWB Ride as my first board. Getting the hang of it. With 3500lbs of ballast and two people in the boat I can ride up to 4ft off the back. I looked into purchasing a used Red Rocket from a member here. . . I was very fortunate in that I was able to test it as well. I felt, as did the member selling it, that with the large size it was a bit slow, a bit sluggish. The Ride feels more nimble.

That said, I am looking to upgrade for next year. I'm 5'10", 202lbs. Looking for something that will hold me, plus be a bit more fun and nimble on the wake. I'm not experienced enough to know the difference between surf and skim. So take that into consideration I guess. Any feedback on reasonable priced boards that will work is appreciated!

Look for surf style board 4-6 to 4-8 x 19 to 20 x 1.5 -2 any combo of those that produce a total volume of 23-28l

Take a look at Soulcraft, Chaos, Brigade or any other hand made in the USA brand. You won't regret spending the extra $$$

gravity
08-21-2017, 11:08 PM