PDA

View Full Version : Does the Mojo have enough push for a skimboard?

DeezWakes
07-23-2017, 04:15 PM
I just bought a 23' 2017 Mojo Surf Edition. I'm new at wake surfing. I'm currently riding a 2017 Ronix Blender (hybrid). It seems to be a pretty nice board as I'm progressing every weekend. I'm really wanting to get a skim board but I'm not quite sure my wake has the ideal push for a skim board. Are there any experienced riders out there that can comment on this before I potentially waste my time and money?

stevemarich
07-23-2017, 04:46 PM
if you are factory ballast , and only surf edition, not surf max, it would depend on how good your skim board is, I ride a Obrian Maha 5 skim board, it has 3 1.1" fins, it is a super fun board, carves awesome , spins easy, and is fast, but you need a ton of push , it likes a steep wake, at least what I have found. fyi last year I demoed a 16 mojo surf edition, and could not go ropless with my board, but had no problems with the sanger v215 I had at the time, but with the upgraded rears in the craz, absolutely no problems at all

DeezWakes
07-23-2017, 06:44 PM
My ballast are factory 900 rears. I believe the 2016 Mojo were 750's. It seems everybody is suggesting 1100's. Thanks for your input

stevemarich
07-23-2017, 07:01 PM
1100 help , but if you have the 900s I would just do enzos for upgraded rears, for the mojo loves to have weight, but with 900s you should be able to get enough push for a skim board, will just have to run your wakeplate up and maybe drop a little nose weight depending on people on board , should be do able though, research the right board , that will help a lot as well

lsupcar
07-23-2017, 10:41 PM
We ride a Lakewakes skim board no problem.
We use a lot of water ballast but usually just driver, rider and one or two more.

muehlcj
07-24-2017, 05:42 AM