PDA

View Full Version : Blower not working, trips breaker when turned on

slopland
06-18-2017, 10:06 PM
Hey all, I searched but could not find anything addressing this.
I have a 2012 Moomba Mojo 2.5 with 100 hours. The blower will not turn on and when the switch is turned on, it trips the fuse breaker. Does this mean I need to replace the fuse or does this mean I have a loose wire/failed blower?

Thanks in advance.

Bryan

5:00
06-19-2017, 10:26 AM
Disconnect at the blower and turn it on again. If it doesn't trip you are looking at a new blower most likely. There is no load so it isn't a perfect answer but at least means you have no short before that point.

zabooda
06-19-2017, 11:20 AM
If you find it is the blower, check inside the housing for debris that may have locked it up.

slopland
06-19-2017, 03:42 PM
Disconnect at the blower and turn it on again. If it doesn't trip you are looking at a new blower most likely. There is no load so it isn't a perfect answer but at least means you have no short before that point.

Sorry for the noob question but when I disconnect from the blower, I'm disconnecting one or two wires? Do I just leave them loose or connect them to complete the circuit?

Thanks in advance.

stevemarich
06-19-2017, 04:29 PM
one wire would be enough to tell if it was the blower or not, if your breaker pops with one wire disconnected, the problem is downstream.

slopland
06-20-2017, 02:06 AM
Will do this weekend. If it does not trip, does that mean its battery side/fuse? If so, where can I order a fuse?

Also, maybe related, maybe not, my depth gauge works but shows ---. Is this a transducer problem?

Thanks for all the help!

moombadaze
06-20-2017, 08:51 AM
replaced 3 blower motors on my 2013 LSV. water would get into the blower motor and rust it causing increased resistance causing the breaker to trip.

simple replacement

stevemarich
06-20-2017, 09:08 AM