PDA

View Full Version : High RPMS in neutral

KimH
06-05-2017, 10:09 AM
I have a 2004 Moomba Outback with the Indmar Assault and when it is idling in neutral the rpms are way too high-up in the 1200-1600 range. It is always worse after the boat has been ran at faster speeds (pulling tubers vs wakesurfing). Has anyone had this issue? Any suggestions as to what could be causing this? TIA

Stazi
06-05-2017, 10:28 AM
Is it the carb version? Idle air speed may need adjusting or the throttle body could be gummy and sticking open, and might need to be cleaned

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

mmandley
06-05-2017, 12:34 PM
You might also look at any vacuum hoses. Bad hoses will cause high idle

Mikes
06-05-2017, 01:24 PM
Does this happen everytime its in neutral or random?

KimH
06-05-2017, 02:50 PM
Mine is fuel-injected.

KimH
06-05-2017, 02:55 PM
It happens about 80% of the time. It's okay for the first little while but the lowest
it will go is around 1000 rpms at rest after it has been running for a little while. Yesterday it was between 1400-1600 after I had been pulling the tube.

sivs1
06-05-2017, 02:58 PM
Simple solution, stop pulling tubes!

KimH
06-05-2017, 02:58 PM
It is fuel-injected. I sprayed the throttle body with Wd40 so I'll see if that helps cleans things up.

KimH
06-05-2017, 03:00 PM
Haha. The kids wouldn't be too happy with me.

lee
06-05-2017, 07:45 PM
Could be an IAC valve.

Stazi
06-05-2017, 09:14 PM
Could be an IAC valve.

True.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mikes
06-06-2017, 03:22 PM
We chased the same problem for over a season. A new tps and its plug fixed it completely.

mmandley
06-07-2017, 07:40 AM
You might still have a vacuum leak, you can spray WD 40, but I would use Carb cleaner as its not a lubricant, praying lubricants into the intake can cause gumming, fouled plugs.