PDA

View Full Version : Having issues, help!!

Bean
05-02-2017, 09:17 AM
Hello I just joined the forum and this is my first post. Just want to thank everyone in advance. I have a 2004 moomba lsv I have been on the water the last 2 weekends with no issues at all, I went saturday and burnt almost a full tank of gas through it. Filled up Sunday and went back. Fired right up and ran fine for about 15 mins and then all of a sudden it just died. I was riding around 3200 rpm or so and it just lost all power and shut down. I messed with it and got it fired back up and it ran kinda rough until i revved it a few times and then started running perfect. I took off again and same scenario, made it a few mintutes and died again. It does the same thing every time but it will idle all day with no problems. I basically just put it in gear and let it go back to the landing and it ran perfect. Any ideas??

dusty2221
05-02-2017, 09:38 AM
Vapor Lock. A cold bottle of water poured over the fuel filter will solve it for you.

Bean
05-02-2017, 09:44 AM
I pulled the fuel filter off this morning and was gonna replace it. Will that fix it if I have unhooked the old one and putting a new one on it and is this a common issue?

dusty2221
05-02-2017, 09:52 AM
Just changing the filter wont prevent it. It is a common issue.

moombahighrider
05-02-2017, 10:01 AM
This doesn't sound like vapor lock to me. That only happens when the boat has been sitting and not running and the fuel lines/ pump gets hot and produces a vapor bubble. I have not seen vapor lock happen once the motor is running smoothly, like the OP describes. I would think changing the fuel filter is a good first step.

Bean
05-02-2017, 10:12 AM