PDA

View Full Version : New Outback, Suggestions?

mase9921
07-29-2006, 10:15 AM
Hello everyone, first let me say that this forum is loaded with great information and I thank all of you that contribute, I have an 06 Outback D drive that recently purchased. I does not have any factory ballast or a hyrdo wakeplate. I am new to wakeboarding and the wake it puts out is fine for now, but I would like to make some modifications for next summer. Does anyone have ideas/suggetions for this particular boat, especially ballast suggestions. I know I can add the bag under the back seat, but doen't that make it so no one can sit back there? Has anyone installed an automatic ballast system themselves?

I am also interested in Perfect Pass and a Hydo Wakeplate, are these good options or not worth the money on this particular boat?

Thanks for your comments, any suggestions for a newbie would be great appreciated

canuckskier
07-29-2006, 07:28 PM
Hello Mase and congratulations. I also am a new moomba owner, I have an '06 Outback DD as well. As for me, I only ski ( why I bought a DD). But almost all of my friends wakeboard, so I decided to gear it up with the tower and ballast, as well as the wakeplate. Let me tell you if you are going to want a great wakeboarding wake you bought the wrong boat. With ballast and a wakeplate it's good, but there is no comparison to a v drive. I'm sure that there are lots of people on this forum to help with installing ballast, another place to go is wakeside in the how-to -section. Some very good stuff there.

As for perfect pass, there are lots of threads about it here. I can tell you in the 40 hours I have on my boat now, I would have paid 5 times what I did for it. It shouldn't even be an option, it should be as standard as a steering wheel.

If I ever figure out how to post pictures on this site, I will upload some wake shots with the plate in different positions. Once you see those you may want to have one installed over the winter.