PDA

View Full Version : New Wakeboard

cobra219
07-26-2006, 05:17 PM
I am a newby to wakeboarding. Tried it last weekend for the first time and LOVED it. I've been slaloming for over 30 years so it was a completely new experience...what a blast! Now I want to get myself a board. Any recommendations of make and model for a starter board. My wife and I will use it along with our freinds so it will have to be a good all-around board for anyone 130-230 lbs.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

Dave

Buttafewcoe
07-26-2006, 06:13 PM
I'm an old fart.....just turned 48 7-20. Started wb'ing I guess 3 yrs ago.
I ride an Evo 138 (Liquid Force) w/ Element Bindings. It's an '05 model, but well equipped to haul my arse around. Pick a brand and go with it. You'll find we all have different opinions. Most of the name brand boards are ok (O'Brien, LF, Gator, etc, etc.)
I've learned wake to wake, surface 180's, and am working on the lip slide. I'm not real brave when it comes to inverts. I don't heal as well as I used to.
Hope this helps
B

tarkus70
07-26-2006, 08:44 PM
IMHO CWB is the best bang for the buck and not a bad ride. If you have a good local dealer see if you can get a demo on a few boards and bindings. And not to preach but I am a big fan of buy local.

Scott

cobra219
07-26-2006, 10:43 PM
Thanks for the info. I'm going to be buying local so now I've got some ideas.

B. I'm turning 42 tomorrow so I'm right there with you on the healing thing. So far falls at 20 mph on the wakeboard seem like much less of an ouch than spills at 32 on the slalom...although I'm not doing much more than crossing the wake and getting a couple of inches of air at this point...

Dave

Ian Brantford
07-26-2006, 10:47 PM