PDA

View Full Version : Moomba vs Mastercraft

jjk42
08-05-2016, 03:19 PM
I've owned both a moomba and mastercraft direct drives and looking to get a vdrive.

Would love to hear some non-biased (if possible) feedback.

2006 Mastercraft X15 w/ 450hrs and upgraded 350hp for around $31,000

Or

2006 Moomba LSV w/ 130hrs and standard/stock everything for $26,500.

Assume both boats come with all standard items and the X15 with a little additional.

Let the conversation begin-thanks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

parrothd
08-05-2016, 03:34 PM
By the Moomba and use the money saved for ballast upgrades. You'll have a better boat.

viking
08-05-2016, 04:31 PM
They both start with an "M" and both 2006 model years. Other than that I'm no help since I've no experience with either......LOL
Between those 2 only and very limited info. I'd choose the Moomba due to lower hours and less coin.
But really decision should be based on the dealer, shape of each boat cause hours alone don't tell the story, and demo ride doing what you plan to use it for the most (surf, wakeboard, ski, ect...). In that price range you should be able to find alot of choices.

jjk42
08-05-2016, 04:35 PM
Thanks for the feedback-

Boat will be primarily used to surf. One downfall of LSV is no amp/sub with stock 6 speakers. So it'll be a coin flip between upgraded ballast or audio

Chawkico
08-05-2016, 04:37 PM
I have a 2006 Moomba so take this for what its worth.

With 900 lb rear ballast bag upgrades and the addition of the Ronix Eight.3 Surfshaper, my friends believe that my wakesurf is on par with today's competition. An engine with 130 hours is still brand new. Go with the Moomba and don't look back.

FlatLander7
08-05-2016, 04:41 PM
Your looking at two 21ish ft boats. Same year model. Main thing coming to play in my mind since I haven't been behind a x15 hull is going to be resale\trade in value. Which the master craft will hold its value better.