PDA

View Full Version : Help wiring Blue Seas Add a Battery kit

jeepskinc
05-22-2016, 05:03 PM
Okay, so I am not experienced with electrical wiring but thought I would give a try at adding a "house" battery to my 2007 Outback. I'm looking at using the Blue Seas Add a Battery kit which comes with a manual switch and ACR. I have been going through threads on this forum and many others and I am not clear on gauge of wiring I need to be using. On the house side I will be running a 400 W (30 amp draw) and 800 W (60 amp draw) AMPS. The 400 W amp is original equipment is currently wired with 10 wwg wires. On the motor side I have 2/0 positive and negative cables currently attached to the starting battery. I plan to run the positive cable from motor to the Blue Seas manual switch using the existing 2/0 cable. Question I have is what gauge should I be using from the switch to the startup battery and from the startup battery to the ACR. I'm thinking a 2 or 4 gauge cable for this. For that matter, I'm thinking 2 or 4 gauge for all the new wiring with only the amp to positive bus being something smaller gauge (e.g. 10 awg). My concern is that Moomba used a 2/0 from the motor to the startup battery. Am I going to have a problem using a 2 or 4 awg cable from the switch to the startup battery on the motor side? I have seen others using a 1/0 cable from their switch to the hose side fuse panel. Am I going to small with 2 or 4 awg cables?

MLA
05-22-2016, 08:44 PM
I would certainly consult your blue sea dealer/installer for the specifics and a custom diagram. In general, cable gauge is based on the length of the circuit and the load it will potentially carry. Its better to go larger than smaller.

jeepskinc
06-11-2016, 07:50 AM