PDA

View Full Version : Mojo Ballast re-design

yooper
09-02-2015, 02:43 PM
I actually sent an email to Wakemakers to get their opinion, but I'm going to re-post here to see if anyone else has something to add, or has done anything similar.

I have a 2013 Moomba Mojo, and I’m thinking about reconfiguring my ballast system a bit for better performance and maintenance.

The first issue is that all 3 pumps are mounted to a board which is hidden behind the port side ballast compartment. I had a pump get stuck when the ballast was full and my only option was to drain the ballast into the bilge (onto the floor, really) so that I could access that compartment and get the impeller to spin again. I’m thinking about leaving the timer control in that location, but re-locating the pumps to a panel mounted to the inside of the transom, behind the engine. Can you think of any reason NOT to do this? Extending the length of the wires, or any other reason?

The second problem is that each pump is currently mounted in a different orientation so that they will all fit on the mounting board. I don’t know, but I suspect that can affect pump speed. Agree? I also know that orienting the pump with the motor up, and impeller down is the best way for longevity. Mounting behind the engine will give me more room to mount them correctly and also give me access if I need to change an impeller.

I’m also thinking about utilizing check valves so that I can fill my bags from the top, and empty from the bottom port. (I attached a drawing) My theory is that the weight of the water in the sac creates more resistance for the pump and the GPH rate slows down as the sac fills. Am I crazy, or could there be something to that? Or are the pumps just powerful enough that it is a non-issue. While filling from the top, there would be little to no resistance.