PDA

View Full Version : Buying my first Wakeboat.......is Moomba for me?

CFD3Captain
08-27-2015, 08:30 PM
First...HELLO! I have been lurking here for a week or better now and figured it was time to register and introduce myself and start asking questions :) As the title states....I am thinking about buying my first wake boat because I want to SURF! I like to wakeboard and will do it occasionally but there is something about getting older and injuries. I can't afford to get hurt because I am a firefighter and we have no light duty. I have tried surfing some behind my current boat and am hooked (more on that later) Anyhow, I have my search down to Moomba and Supreme. I arrived here based on a few things, first and foremost is price. I don't want too old of a boat that shows wear. Second is service / dealer. I have looked around the State (Ohio) and there are not that many dealers of wake boats. There is a Moomba dealer in Akron as well as a MasterCraft dealer. There are no Supreme / Centurion dealers in the State (that I could find). Supreme is the boat I initially fell in love with, but with no dealers close it would be foolish to buy one. So Moomba is taking the lead.

My current boat is a 2013 Yamaha Jet boat. GREAT boat, my second one actually, but is not capable of surfing or at least doing so safely and witout bags everywhere. It's a great family boat and we love it, but it's missing a few things.......Hidden ballast capable of throwing a decent surf wave and a sun pad for the wife. Other than that it has it all. I even installed Perfect Pass on it :D PP is a must for any water sport on the jet boats IMO. Especially with the wife driving 8). I am not sure of my budget, but I would really like to be under 45k. Of course I have to sell my current boat as well, but that hopefully won't be too hard.