PDA

View Full Version : Hi! Potentially new owner!

Lawn Dart
07-14-2015, 05:24 PM
Lately, I've been hearing the call of the water... I used to ski and kneeboard as a kid, scuba dive as an adult, etc. Anyhoo, I've been spending way too much time at marinas, drinking and watching others on boats have more fun.

So, I started researching a ski/wakeboard/kneeboard/tubing boat... and arrived at Tige. The RZR looks awesome, does everything I want it to do. Then I saw the price. Then I saw the horror stories on the owners' forum. Not good. Tige is out.

In my dismay, I started looking around for something not nearly as troublesome, and found a 2006 Moomba LS w/ 5.7L Indmar. Direct Drive. Looks like it has around 280 hours.

As a newb, I'm still learning in leaps and bounds, and I'm more or less an inquisitive idiot at this point. How would a used boat like this fare as a "beginner boat", and what would one expect to pay for such an item? I've done price research, but like a car, used boat prices seem to be all over the map for the uninitiated. If I were to look as this, what sorts of things would I need to look for? (I know a few obvious things - cracks in the hull, water trapped under the engine, basic engine items like on a car) What else am I missing or should I know?

Thanks,

Dart

KG's Supra24
07-14-2015, 05:35 PM
Unless you plan to use the boat for slalom ... you will want to sell the LS within a year for a v-drive boat.

direct drive, like the LS

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQgTF7KA3ClyBun3LRLls6wFhH4QvXJu 16p9Xk9Mwe87kivULvikg

v drive boat ... more user friendly interior

https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRao1aZwyNJGb997Qst5JhuNXT5FpBpp lxgXwjodEUrKSLvsIxU

Lawn Dart
07-14-2015, 05:40 PM