PDA

View Full Version : Surfing in Coves: Is it necessary?

Gmark
06-27-2015, 12:50 AM
Hey guys, I need a self-check. I am pretty new to Wakeboarding and Wake surfing. I just purchased a 2015 Mojo in March. Like most of you, we always seek out coves or narrow fingers of our lake (Lake Wylie) to find the cleanest water for wakeboarding. I find myself getting more and more irritated by people surfing in these areas. To me (and this is where I need a check from you guys) I just don't see the need to seek out the most pristine water for surfing, especially if the main channel of the lake is not busy. The water just gets destroyed by the waves and the slow speed of the boats becomes a nuisance. Add to this, the property owners on the shoreline being unnecessarily subject to these huge waves only increasing the likelihood of them complaining to local authorities who in turn could limit the sport. Of course I could get equally frustrated by folks tubing, but to me those people generally don’t really give the whole “flat water thing” much thought, so I kind of give them a pass. But people with $100k+ wakeboard boats surely must know better, although it sure seams like they don’t. Maybe it’s just me:confused:.

mmandley
06-27-2015, 01:50 AM
I don't search out pristine water when we surf. I how ever do not like white caped water either.

As the water gets rougher the boat will bounce more, this translates into your surf wave, also as the water gets rougher you get more spray over the bow and passengers tend to complain more.

For myself, once the wind gets over 10mph we stop all water sports, when the wind is over 5 most of my wake boarders are done as well.

jester
06-27-2015, 01:56 AM