PDA

View Full Version : help! new owner! boat dying!

CMAC21
06-21-2015, 10:06 PM
I've got a 2006 Mobius LSV. Bought it this year. It had 210 hrs on it and I've put about 25 hrs on it so far. This weekend i ran into some problems. I would run for around 30-45 min and then it would start sputtering(spelling?) And then would die. After about 45min it wwould run fine again and do it all over. I'm new to this as I don't know much about the motor. Any help would be awesome! I wanted to check here first before i took it in to get checked out. Thanks in advance guys. I appreciate it

Mobius22
06-22-2015, 10:58 AM
I'm guessing you're vapor locking. Aka your engine is getting hot either from the outside air or poor ventilation and literally turning your liquid gas into vapor. This usually happens when it's really hot outside so I'm guessing that's the culprit. To fix it, we would just stop open up the engine lid and pour water on the engine. Usually takes about 5-10 minutes to cool it off.

moombahighrider
06-22-2015, 11:23 AM
I was wondering about this too, but vapor lock typically only happens after you have been running for a while and then stop and rest for a good amount of time- then the vapor lock condition shows itself when you go to start the motor again. From the OP's brief description of the situation, I did not read it going down like that.

Möbius22, does yours vapor lock while running? I have not heard of that happening before.

We need a more detailed description of what is happening and the events surrounding the situation.

zabooda
06-22-2015, 11:39 AM
That was the era of vapor locking.

Mobius22
06-22-2015, 11:40 AM