PDA

View Full Version : 98 Moomba Outback been sitting for 3 years

ddauer12
06-08-2015, 10:33 AM
Hey guys, Im new to the site. Thanks for having me. I have a 98 Moomba outback been sitting for 3/4 years. I got it from my co-worker they didnt have time to use it anymore. I'd like to get it back up and running. He said the last time he used it he noticed a blueish/white smoke hes not sure if something got stuck while he was sitting in idle. He said he loaded it back up on the trailer and that was the last time he used it. Asking if anybody may have an idea what it could be? Also what would you recommend replacing after sitting for a few years? any help would be great. Thanks

kaneboats
06-08-2015, 10:48 AM
I would change all the fluids and the impeller, hook up a water (cooling) source, charge the battery and see what you get. Without coolant supplied the impeller will smoke kind of blue. Replace it anyway.

ddauer12
06-08-2015, 10:56 AM
awesome! thanks for the info. The impeller (the small) black rubber impeller i believe right? Pretty new to the moomba series.

kaneboats
06-08-2015, 11:05 AM
Yes, the one for a Johnson pump. I think it is the same on yours. My 2000 Outback used the same one as my 2008 LSV.

https://www.bakesonline.com/detail.aspx?ID=276

ddauer12
06-08-2015, 11:12 AM
cool. Yeah it still has a full tank of gas in it. Im pretty sure that gas is bad after sitting for 3 years. not sure what to do with it?

kaneboats
06-08-2015, 11:34 AM
Siphon it out and take it to a recycler place.

ddauer12
06-08-2015, 11:49 AM
what oil and filter would you recommend? and spark plugs? I wanna make sure i get everything right. I was trying to look for the owners manual through moomba and could not find anything

kaneboats
06-08-2015, 12:44 PM
Yea, the owners manuals on this page only go back to 2000.

http://www.moomba.com/archive/14-mojo-25

You can try to pm zabooda. I think he has a '98.

liquid_acid
06-08-2015, 03:07 PM