PDA

View Full Version : Engine won't start after running and sitting

volare
05-21-2015, 05:01 PM
I have a moomba 2006 xlv with multiport fuel injection and after running my boat and get the normal temperature after a 30-40 min run.... after stopped 1-2 hours the motor won t start and or the motor stopped because rpm is too low. The only method to restart it is to put the throttle wide open or stand by half to 1 hrs...... Anybody have a answer what is the problem.... my temperature sensor is new, fuel pressure is good... the only thing i forget to check because we can't check it. ( is it my throttle body the problem IAC don't working good?) somebody have a hint ?

sivs1
05-21-2015, 05:06 PM
sounds like vapor lock

parrothd
05-21-2015, 06:31 PM
Sounds like a leaky injector or a bad fuel pump. I'd replace the pump as it's almost 10 years old and fuel filter and stay away from ethanol fuel..

moombahighrider
05-21-2015, 07:55 PM
Vapor lock....

volare
06-02-2015, 12:39 PM
if is vapor lock how to resolve it?

sivs1
06-02-2015, 12:46 PM
I am sure your XLV is very similar to my LSV. You should have the remote oil filter and two hoses running down from it to the engine. I noticed the hoses were resting against the fuel pump, both hoses run hot and was heating up the fuel pump causing vapor lock. I took 5-6 zip ties and pulled the hoses back so they do not come in contact with the fuel pump. even though they are still close, the do not touch, have not had an issue since.

mmandley
06-02-2015, 03:54 PM
Other way if it still happens is get a bottle of cold water from the cooler and pour it on the fuel lines.

moombahighrider
06-03-2015, 10:17 PM
Other way if it still happens is get a bottle of cold water from the cooler and pour it on the fuel lines.

This is what I do. Works every time...

khanna
06-06-2015, 09:12 PM
Hello, curious to see if some of the recommendations solved your issues as I am having similar problems. I have a 2007 Mobius LSV.