PDA

View Full Version : Weighting the XLV for Wakeboarding (yes, wakeboarding)

trayson
05-19-2015, 07:35 PM
So who all is using their XLV for wakeboarding? What have you found gets you the best wakeboarding wake?

(ballast setup, speed, rope length)

I really haven't played with my setup much. I've been doing just the 1180 gravity bag, 21.5mph, and 70 feet of line.

Open to suggestions for the best wakeboarding setup.

Ian Brantford
05-19-2015, 11:41 PM
After finally getting the right small crowd that let me do some experimentation a couple of years ago, I finally found that I had been doing it wrong (and suffering for it) for eight years. <sigh>

The only time that I have ever done satisfactory wake jumping is the few times when I moved a couple of adults to the bow. I had not been tracking how much of a difference that made. The problem is that, if you are using factory ballast and have people in the interior, the wake will probably be too steep for anyone but a fairly expert and strong rider to use. It's too much for beginners to progress because they'll be fighting that huge impulse. It took that long to add up all of the muttered comments that a few experienced riders (mainly visitors) had made, tempered by being polite instead of objectively informative.

The XLV's original Gravity Games ballast is set up with 1180 center, 2x500 rear, and zero front ballast. With no front ballast, you need to remove rear ballast weight to correct for every person in the interior other than the driver and observer. Alternatively, you can add bow ballast.