PDA

View Full Version : No Top End

JTupper
03-12-2015, 06:14 PM
Hello, I am new to this site. I purchased a 2005 Mobius XLV with the 325 Indmar about 3 years ago. When I first ran the boat I could get 44mph out of it. Now i can only get about 32 and it wont hold it very well. Also doesn't seem to pull as hard out of the hole. besides that it starts and idles great if you didn't know any better you wouldn't think anything wrong. From reading other posts I would believe that I am carrying extra water in the drop keel section of the hull under the ski locker. I am new to inboards and only had experience with out board powered boats before. Is it fuel related, tune up, a sensor? any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

z28ke
03-12-2015, 06:30 PM
I would try a replacing the fuel filter first. I had to replace on my 08 Outback V a couple years ago with similar symptoms. Easiest and least expensive place to start and fixed it right up.

JTupper
03-12-2015, 06:36 PM
Thank you z28ke I will try that. As soon as all the ice melts, 20+ inches out there right now.

boardman74
03-12-2015, 06:45 PM
It could be one of a 100 things, but the filter is a good place to start. What are the RPM's when your WOT? Is it smooth? Does it surge, or sputter? If you have enough water trapped under the floor to lose over 25% of your top speed your going to have a split hull come spring(from it freezing and expanding) so I really doubt that.

mmandley
03-12-2015, 07:58 PM
I would go Fuel Filter,
Spark Plugs
Spark Plug Wires
Cap, Rotor

Once she is in the water you will know if you are caring a lot of nose weight because it will sit nose down in the water. Your swim deck will be higher then normal in the water.

If you do all those simple repairs, I would next be looking at the Carb.

JTupper
03-12-2015, 09:04 PM