PDA

View Full Version : Moomba XLV prop: Acme 537 (13.5x16) vs. OJ 466 (14.25x14)

trayson
03-05-2015, 12:44 PM
So, after a few months, IrishRacing who sold me my 2008 XLV finally shipped me the extra prop that was to be included in the sale.

The current prop is the Acme 537 (13.5x16).

The Spare prop is the OJ 466 (14.25x14).

Can someone give me insight into one vs the other? I'm really happy so far with the 537 so I'm not inclined to make any changes, but I'd like to know how the other prop would perform relative to this one. I'm a NEWB when it comes to props so hopefully someone can give me some insight.

Here's the spare prop:
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-Be5UkVnLQ84/VPemdY316aI/AAAAAAAAYJk/e7RZHTeO5p4/s800/20150304_164138.jpg

kaneboats
03-05-2015, 01:16 PM
I run the 537 (actually the 1161, which is the same prop with slightly different cupping). Run about 1550 ballast plus a full crew no problems and smooth as silk. Still fast enough to ski and cruise too. Love it.

trayson
03-05-2015, 01:40 PM
I run the 537 (actually the 1161, which is the same prop with slightly different cupping). Run about 1550 ballast plus a full crew no problems and smooth as silk. Still fast enough to ski and cruise too. Love it.

Yeah, I'm pretty happy thusfar with the 537. I'm guessing that the OJ 466 is what he upgraded from. But I'd still like to educate myself on how the two compare.

DOCDRS
03-05-2015, 02:07 PM