PDA

View Full Version : About to buy a 96, need advise.

Gcart
02-18-2015, 08:36 AM
Good morning folks.

I am new to ski boats. I've owned several outboard pontoons and fishing boats, but never an inboard.

Here is a link to the boat I am looking at.

https://lakeland.craigslist.org/boa/4889973771.html

Anything special I should look for? I'm stoked about the 351.

Thank you for your help,
Sam

kaneboats
02-18-2015, 10:13 AM
Great boat for the money if it was properly maintained. It may be a little crowded for anything but 2-3 folks going out for a ski. If you do more than hard core skiing you may find yourself wishing you had found an Outback instead. Then again, an Outback is probably double the money you are talking here. Go take it for a ride and see if it looks, feels and sounds right. It looks darn good in the pics. Good luck!

Edit: By the way, there are a couple of clues there. You want to buy any used item from someone who properly cares for it, maintains it and spends money on it, not from someone who takes shortcuts. Look at the condition in the pictures. And, look how he keeps his truck. This one is likely worth taking for a ride.

sandm
02-18-2015, 11:32 AM
spent a lot of time on my buddies boat just like this. couple thoughts that echo Kane's...
if you are not skiing from a dock and swapping peeps, any more than 3 for watersking doesn't work.
you need a pole if you are going to wakeboard at all and anyone that is aggressive will yank the boat around pretty hard.
freeboard is VERY short so surfing is very difficult but can be done. not recommended.
have to pay attention to where you are driving. almost swamped my buddy a couple of times with a surf wave.
very easy to maintain and work on. simplest boat I have ever helped winterize.
amazingly light to tow.
VERY fun to drive. acceleration is amazing and turns better than any boat I have ever driven.
have to be careful with throttle. full on out of the hole pulling up a waterskier will rip their arms out.