PDA

View Full Version : Set up for stereo amp

Mcdonas
12-30-2014, 03:08 PM
I have a Moomba Mojo with the standard Sony Stereo system and six speakers. I have a 600w/4 channel kicker amp. I just added two rockford tower speakers for a total of eight. I connected the tower speakers with the front speakers on the amp. Im not sure how to set the switches on the amp. Hi/low and what does the fader do?

David Analog
12-30-2014, 05:16 PM
First, the tower speakers MUST have their own dedicated channels. The demands placed on tower speakers (elevated in open air with the expectations of greater projection) are very different from the in-boat speakers which are listened to within a 5 foot proximity. Plus, you will want to fade between the tower and in-boat zones. That control is essential.
Then you can wire the six in-boat speakers in a series/parallel combination off the remaining two channels. The two cockpit coaxials from each side will be wired in series and that combo will be wired in parallel with one bow coaxial. That is as close as you can get to having an equitable distribution of in-boat power while still maintaining a stable load to the amplifier.
Then you can address the amplifier settings.

Mcdonas
12-30-2014, 05:56 PM
Thanks David

MLA
12-30-2014, 07:30 PM
Can that Kicker amp drive all 8.......sure, but like David said, its a huge demand to ask when its a pair of tower speakers. Get a nice 2 chnl, like the Kicker KXM400.2 that dedicated just for those tower pods and you will be much happier with the overall performance of the system.

Mcdonas
12-30-2014, 09:41 PM
Thanks for the suggestion MLA. I will look at doing that. I actually have an extra amp that I can install.

belewsfamily
01-01-2015, 11:34 PM
Thanks for the suggestion MLA. I will look at doing that. I actually have an extra amp that I can install.