PDA

View Full Version : Towing Tubes or Slalom with a V-drive

trayson
09-29-2014, 03:03 PM
So, this may seem like a total NEWB question, but I'd like to know what people are doing as far as pulling a skier or a tube from a vdrive. I have no intention of ever towing a tube from my tower, because I am not going to put the tower at risk of the jerk that can happen from a tube... (And I'm not talking about the driver being the 'jerk', Haha!)

with my direct drive, I'd slalom ski from the stern eye because my center pylon had been removed.

The rear of the XLV looks like it has an eye that you could attach a tow rope to, but is that what it's designed for?

https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-oA-iEWVQHoA/VA3TweifdZI/AAAAAAAAULU/LuieCq2GTIg/s800/VP3333681_14_large_resized_zps84e910d6.jpg

I would think that for skiing, the pylon at the front of the v-drive locker would make the most sense. What about for a tube? I don't want a rope dragging across my nice vinyl and messing up my sundeck... But I also don't wanna tow from something that's really not as structurally stout as needed.

slipperyrockTKE300
09-29-2014, 03:16 PM
I use the pylon in the sundeck for a skier and the hook in the grab rail for a tuber

bergermaister
09-29-2014, 03:19 PM
I say tubes from pylon always - at least the bigger multi-rider tubes, esp if you are getting rowdy. The angle when running should keep the rope plenty far away from the vinyl. Same with skiing once you're up.
http://i326.photobucket.com/albums/k414/grberglund/MoombaMobiusV/P1090820-1.jpg

I've never had rubbing issues with my stub... ;)
http://i326.photobucket.com/albums/k414/grberglund/MoombaMobiusV/IMG_5869.jpg

Unless GoProing from the tube - then mount down low. We did this with a buddy's Malibu this summer, 4 person tube with 1-2 riders. But just riding in a straight line. Any hard yanks from slack I think could have really messed that hook up.
http://wakeboardpittsburgh.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/2.jpg

Boonejeepin