PDA

View Full Version : New Ski

pullmyfingers
12-26-2005, 01:46 AM
Need help with a new ski purchase. I have a gift certificate to Overtons and budget constraints so I am trying to choose between the Connelly Concept and the F1X. I skied on a O'Brien Synchro last year and it's time to upgrade. I am still a novice on the course but I tend to improve rather quickly. I was at 15 off in August when I hurt my ribs pretty bad and couldn't do much before the end of the season. Are these skis good or just good enough?

BensonWdby
12-26-2005, 10:30 AM
I have never skied the F1X (or any other shaped ski), nor any of the really high end skis like Goode, D3, Sixam, etc. I also no longer ski the course (much, mostly because no course available). However, I have recently increased my speed and shortened the line significantly in my free skiing.

I had skied 15 off at 30-32 mph for decades until this year, thinking that if you can't run the course any faster or shorter, then you have no business doing so in open water. I discovered that was the biggest mistake of my waterskiing life.

I am now skiing at 34mph at 32-35 off (in calm water) and loving it. I can finally actually feel the ski doing what it supposed to. And strangely enough I feel I have the same mount of time to do what needs to be done... Kind of a time-dialation thing..

Anyhow, the point here is that I am on a 1999 Connelly Concept with soft front boot and an open rear toe. The ski is generally pretty fogiving, but still does what I want it to when I want it to. Having nothing 'better' to compare it to it's hard to say how much better I might ski on something else. But right now I am having so much fun I really don't care.