PDA

View Full Version : Relocating batteries & Mounting amps

redmondson
03-07-2013, 09:18 PM
I have an 06 Moomba LSV and I'm looking to relocate my batteries and mount my amps for a cleaner look.
Any suggestions?

mmandley
03-07-2013, 10:22 PM
Depends on your current situation. Where are the batteries and amps now? Also what type of batteries are you using?

redmondson
03-07-2013, 10:25 PM
My batteries & amps are currently located in the cubby. I'm also buying two new batteries this spring.

mmandley
03-08-2013, 09:53 AM
Your best bet is going to be where they are. Most people build an amp rack and mount it to the side of the hull, using the rail at the floor, and the back side of the rub rail. You can screw into these but only about 1/2 inch.

Batteries, if they are traditional Wet cell, then you have to leave them upright, this leaves you in the cubby, or under the drivers helm.

If you get Gel style batteries that can be laid on there side then you can move the batteries into a storage compartment, or in the bow, or drivers helm, you will just need to extend your power and ground wires.

EarmarkMarine
03-08-2013, 11:26 AM
Just to clarify, Gel and AGM batteries are often confused.
One key to a clean and seviceable amplifier panel is to have plenty of extra real estate for distribution, wire raceways and strain reliefs/tie-downs.
The hull surface of that year probably will not give you direct mounting provisions, but once you resolve that you will have a very spacious panel for multiple amplifiers, possibly a battery charger, and all the necessities. The ability to service and tune will be a breeze.