PDA

View Full Version : buying boat looking for some info.

weeds-suck
09-19-2005, 01:39 PM
Hey Guys,
Obviously new to the forum but I do know that this is generally where I can find the most informative knowledge base. And the most truthfull. As I have been reading everybody elses posts it appears we have all done some research about the other manufacturer's products, but like you guys I can't get my head around spending 15-20,000 more for a little dressier boat and there name. I currently run a bowrider which i put an aftermarket tower on and it has been fine but I have levelled out on my wakeboarding because the boat just can't take me any farther for performance or wake. My brother has a Malibu Sunsetter so I am used to that boat. I have my mind set on a Moomba but have some questions so here goes;

1. As my name depicts, I have a ton of weeds in my lake and it is shallow. I have to trim the outboard up to get out about 100ft to where it gets deeper. I have accepted the fact that I may need to figure out a way to get me out to the channel but not under the boats power. How are the boats for weedy lakes, I will have the strainer put on but would like to here feed back if they won't work in weeds.

2. I am looking at a cross-over boat, I board but the wife mostly slaloms. I am looking at the 06's and from what i am told the new hull is much improved over the previous hull design. So I am leaning towards the Mobius LS, or I will stick with the Outback.
Will this choice in boats provide me with a good enough wake(i am not looking to be a professional) for wakeboarding and yet still be a nice wake for slalom?

3. What is the actuall draft/depth to the bottom of the prop? Literally i have to stick with the 22" draft models, that 2" is a big deal for my lake.

Any information you current owners can provide me will be much aprreciated as it will help me to decide which way to go.

Cheers,
J.

Wake Master
09-19-2005, 09:03 PM