PDA

View Full Version : Rode a Malibu with a Surf Gate this weekend

bkearney
08-27-2012, 10:06 AM
Overtons had a "Battlr of the Brands" here in Raleigh. It was a good time, and of course my wallet is now lighter. However, we got to ride in a 23ft malibu with the surf gate. I am new in general to wake board boats, but this ithe first thing which really impressed the heck out of me.

The wake was about 4 ft tall, and about 8 feet wide. It engages at 7mph, and can switch on the fly. I have no idea how it works, but I hope the come up with a way to mount these on older boats.

mnpracing
08-27-2012, 10:25 AM
I rode one as well, and was really impressed. The way it was explained to me is that the surfgate engages (pushes out to be inline with the hull) on the opposite side that you are surfing. This effectivly extends the hull on that side. The wave on that side of the boat builds later than the surf side since the water has to clear this extended hull. What that does is causes the non-surf-side wave to build underneath the surf-side wave, creating a bigger wave, with ample push. Seems to make sense to a bean-counter like me. It was mounted very similar to how our wakeplates are mounted. No through hull bolting, just lag screws with one hydraulic actuator per side. Time will tell if that is study enough. I haven't heard of anyone having their wakeplate ripped off, and I wouldn't think the pressure is any more or less on the surfgate tabs, but what do I know.