View Full Version : do ya think its a scam

06-23-2012, 03:31 PM
I have my fishing boat listed on craigslist

and this is the reply

I'm interested, do you still have it for sale?

my reply

Yes, it's still for sale

and the scam reply

I'm interested and consider it sold, I'm buying it for my father and
payment would be through PayPal, my agent will come for pick up,
actually I'm working in a ship and most time I am off shore. Expecting
your prompt reply, with the name and email address on the your PayPal
account so that I can make the payment and please provide me with
recent pictures including this item so I can see the condition before
we proceed since I would not be seen it in person so I can make a
payment right away, and pick up would at your residence. And lastly,
I'm offering additional $100 to your final price for you to keep it
off from other offer. If you don't have paypal account yet, it is
very easy to set up, go to http://www.paypal.com and get it set up..
looking forward to your response.

06-23-2012, 05:28 PM
Scam! I received a similar response when I was selling my old boat last year...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

06-23-2012, 05:28 PM
Sure sounds like a scam. Tell them you don't have a Paypal account and you are not interested in setting one up. Cash talks!

06-23-2012, 06:16 PM
100% a scam. I would mess with him and try my best to waste a lot of his time. Maybe get the cops involved?? It would probably have to be the FBI since it is over the internet right?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

06-23-2012, 10:16 PM
FBI won't touch anything like this unfortunately due to the dollar amount involved. The Feds deal with cases that involve 100's of thousands of dollars or more, they just don't have the manpower, funds, time, or interest in dealing with petty crimes as they would call it. Now of course each case is different and if it can be traced to a huge criminal element on their radar something may get done. Just be glad you didn't provide this arse-wipe any of your acct info

I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?sbp1zl
Sent from my home phone..

06-23-2012, 10:23 PM
Don't fall for it Daze! That's a scam.

Now, if you want to send me your PayPal info, your bank acct numbers and your Social Security number, I will take the boat off your hands.

06-23-2012, 11:42 PM
My bro called Monday night all excited about a 2005 möbius ls for sale for 4600 on Craigslist. Said it was in town where he lives. Since it was 1/5 of value and story that accompanied, I said Scam. It was on craigslist in about 15 cities.
Had a little fun with him. But he never responded further.

06-24-2012, 02:33 AM
I don't know. Sounds legit to me. My nigerian banker friends looked at it and they say it checks out fine.

06-24-2012, 09:28 AM
never had any luck with craigslist myself so Im going to just park the boat down on the corner with a foresale sign and see how that goes