PDA

View Full Version : First oil change attempt...questions

E4NASH
06-14-2012, 02:36 PM
Ok, so tomorrow I am going to attempt to change my oil as we are now sitting at 54+ hours. I have the remote oil filter so that should help. I have changed oil in cars about 753 times, never in a boat. I figured I could surely do it myself for way less than what the dealer charges. I almost choked when I heard the quote! Do you guys have any tips? I know I have to buy an extractor to get the oil out but where do I extract it from? Same place where you fill it? Can I get the extractor at Auto zone or Walmart? I seem to remember a pic on here at one time of someone's boat with oil draining into a pan from a tube that was coming out of the rear plug above the wakeplate?? Is that right or was I seeing things? Also I assume the owner's manual will tell me what kind of filter and oil to put in. Sorry for the questions....I'm a newb and at the rate we are racking up the hours I will probably have to do this at least once more this summer...

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

moombadaze
06-14-2012, 03:17 PM
My remote drain hose wont fit out the transome drain. Back when I had a direct drive I could do that as the drain was right under the motor and that ws probly the cleanest oil change I ever performed.

I use a extractor and use the drain hose, simple to undue the cap and then stick the extractors hose down till it bottoms out. Filters easy to do-just like a car. Make sure to have a few rags under the filte to catch the spillage. Add some oil to the filter and reinstall.

I can not find the penzoil marine oil so ive been using the rotella brand and one of the name brand filters the auto parts has in stock

rdlangston13
06-14-2012, 03:21 PM